Welcome to Tredegar Arms Hotel and Restuarant.
Tredegar Arms has newly reopened in October 2019 as a sophisticated, modern hotel and restaurant. It has currently undergone a £1.5 million refurbishment to bring back one of Blaenau Gwent town's 'finest heritage assets'. This hotel consists of 10 luxury bedrooms, a sports bar, restaurant, open bar area and an exquisite function room that can accommodate up to 70 guests for any sort of event such as weddings and other celebrations.
Our experienced staff are able to guarantee 100% guest satisfaction as we want your experience here to be memorable. We are always on hand to answer any questions you may have and look forward to welcoming you to the hotel.
Tredegar Arms is a Hotel and Restaurant situated in Tredegar's town centre. This newly refurbished, intimate hotel offers peace and tranquility for all customers for both leisure and business purposes.
Described as one of Tredegar’s finest heritage assets; The Tredegar Arms is continuing with its conservation works to bring the building back to life.
Through a combination of Townscape Heritage Initiative grant funding, significant owner investment and a committed workforce this once derelict building is receiving treatment to ensure its future is safeguarded.
The building has received new roof coverings, render, windows, entrance portico and decoration as well as extensive works to the internal space in order to bring the building back into use as a hotel.
When Tredegar Arms was built in 1817, Tredegar was already a prosperous and commercially successful town. A key member of a group of iron and coal producers known as "The Hearts of the Valleys". The circle, as it became known, comprised of the Tredegar Arms, The Cambrian, The Black Prince and The Market House. In 1857, there was much talk of a great clock to be installed in the palace of Westminster causing the former Mrs R. P Davies (wife of the iron master at Tredegar) to proclaim; "If Westminster can have a clock, then so can Tredegar". That commitment was achieved and 2019 is the 160th Anniversary of the most notable achievement. So "The Clock", together with the key buildings around it formed "The Circle" becoming known throughout the industrial world as a key producer of iron and iron products.
Illustrating this, is the arrival in Tredegar of a group of American industrialists who in 1836, decided to invest in making rails for the expanding US rail network at Richmond Virginia. The group, therefore, hired a Rhys Davies of Tredegar, then a talented engineer at the works to emigrate to Richmond and set up a works. In 1837, Rhys and some Tredegar recruits did just that and in honour of their achievement the Americans called it Tredegar and it is still there today. A popular museum of the period, well respected for its role as a supplier of iron-weaponry and cannons for the confederate army.
Just a stone throw away, is the iconic and grade two listed building and the residence for successive iron-masters at Tredegar. Bedwellty House was one of the area's grades residences and would have played host to grand dances and social gatherings, attracting guests from home and abroad. In 1899, Lord Tredegar made a free gift of the house and park to the council and was opening to the public.